WORLD BOXING NEWS
In a statement this week, the World Boxing Association have confirmed Canelo Alvarez will remain a two-weight world champion.
At times in the past, the WBA encouraged boxers to give up a belt should they be able to secure a title in separate divisions.
On this occasion, and citing Floyd Mayweather as an example, the WBA will allow Canelo to stay middleweight ‘super’ champion and super-middleweight ‘regular’ champion.
“The World Boxing Association (WBA) Championships Committee ratified Saul “Canelo” Alvarez as the WBA’s Middleweight and Super Middleweight Champion. As it can be appreciated in the organization’s ranking, which can be consulted on the organization’s website,” said the WBA.
“Canelo won the WBA Super Championship of the 160 pounds class last September 2018. He defeated Gennady Golovkin by majority decision. He will defend the Title on May against Daniel Jacobs. The champion of the International Boxing Federation (IBF) division.
“He won the 168-pound WBA Title last December. He defeated Rocky Fielding Jr. by technical knockout in the third round.
“At this opportunity, the Mexican boxer will be able to hold both WBA Titles in accordance with the organization’s rules. As it was the case with Floyd Mayweather Jr. some years ago.”
Canelo remains understudy to Callum Smith at 168 pounds. The Briton won the strap when defeating George Groves in the World Boxing Super Series final.
At this point, the WBA are not likely to force the pair to meet. As in other divisions under certain regulations.
Smith would not be part of Oscar De La Hoya’s plan for Canelo. If the WBA ever called for a mandatory fight, it would be likely Canelo would vacate until he fully grows into the weight class.
This was the case when Canelo first moved up to 160. The 28 year-old held off a meeting with Gennady Golovkin for some time.
Eventually, Canelo accepted before coming through Golovkin in a debated two-fight draw and rematch victory scenario.
A third fight is on the table for September in the form of a TV deal with DAZN.
The WBA’s ruling makes no mention of the previous statements by their President to drop the regular belts completely.
📸 Amanda Westcott